Skip to content

Sci-Fi Biweekly Bulletin: Black Widow, Gearbreakers, etc.

From spaceships to alternate history, and other worlds to nanites, science fiction is a fascinating genre of rather amazing depth that many talented writers happily delve into on a daily basis. And we, the curators here at Sci-Fi & Scary, aren’t even going to talk about a tenth of it right now. However, what you will get is a selection of movies, books, and interesting articles from across the net. Also, there’s a strong potential for puns, gifs, and a moderate amount of fangirling.

And, of course, a giveaway of a completely amazeballs book.

Page break indicator for Sci-Fi & Scary
Small Sci-Fi and Scary Divider

Science Fiction Movies

Black Widow

A film about Natasha Romanoff in her quests between the films Civil War and Infinity War

Starring: Scarlett Johansson, Florence Pugh, and David Harbour

Small Sci-Fi and Scary Divider

Science Fiction Books

Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta

Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they’re fighting for a common purpose–and falling for each other–in Zoe Hana Mikuta’s high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown’s Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu’s Legend series.

We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead...

The shadow of Godolia’s tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the people of the Badlands, who live under the thumb of their cruel Godolia overlords.

Eris Shindanai is a Gearbreaker, a brash young rebel who specializes in taking down Windups from the inside. When one of her missions goes awry and she finds herself in a Godolia prison, Eris meets Sona Steelcrest, a cybernetically enhanced Windup pilot. At first Eris sees Sona as her mortal enemy, but Sona has a secret: She has intentionally infiltrated the Windup program to destroy Godolia from within.

As the clock ticks down to their deadliest mission yet, a direct attack to end Godolia’s reign once and for all, Eris and Sona grow closer–as comrades, friends, and perhaps something more…

Also Recently Released

A War of Swallowed Stars by Sangu Mandanna

When the Sparrow Falls by Neil Sharpson

Double Threat by F. Paul Wilson

Artifact Space by Miles Cameron

Goodreads Giveaways

The Tempered Steel of Antiquity Grey by Shawn Speakman

Forgotten City: Tau Ceti by Rodzil LaBraun

The First Sister by Linden A. Lewis

The City Where We Once Lived by Eric Barnes

Small Sci-Fi and Scary Divider

Sci-Fi Guest Post Call

Where do you draw the line at sci-fi? For instance, what about a future largely like our own? If it’s a future that yes, is technically alternate but has the same tech, social structures, etc. is it still sci-fi? Is it being set in the future as an alternate timeline enough to make it science fiction? What are your thoughts? Let us know in 500+ words

Small Sci-Fi and Scary Divider

Sci-Fi on the Web

You can find the Locus Award Winners here!

Check out this review from Wired for Subnautica: Below Zero

How Loki and Fallout use retrofuturism to unnerve us from Den of Geek

16 Oscar Winning Sci-Fi Movies

Small Sci-Fi and Scary Divider

Sci-Fi Cover of the Week

Published inSci-Fi News

Be First to Comment

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

┬ęSci-Fi & Scary 2019
%d bloggers like this: