What’s Up In Sci-Fi: Sci-Fi Ideas Shaping the Army, and Aliens

WhatsUpinSciFi - sci-fi ideas shaping the army

Welcome back to What’s Up in Sci-Fi #7. A sampling of science fiction news across the mediums. From movies to books, to real life, and any bits in between that I can think of to list. I have no doubt the format will change as I figure out what works and what doesn’t. This is by no means a comprehensive list of what’s happening, but it should whet your appetite!

Movies Tidbits

arrival Arrival wreleased on November 11th. It’s still doing great. Has an 8.4 rating on IMDB.

Synopsis: A linguist is recruited by the military to assist in translating alien communications.

But here’s the thing: If you go by the trailers and the IMDB synopsis, you’re may be disappointed by the movie. While it has great visuals, and there is a good deal of linguistics involved in it, this is not a movie that’s really about making first contact with aliens, nor does it have much action in it at all.

It’s a great movie, just don’t expect your typical sci-fi flick when you go in to see it.

My review.


Featured Vimeo Sci-Fi Short

Because of the owner’s permission settings, I can’t embed the video like I normally do.  So, here’s the link.
Iscariot by Kirill Proskura


Featured Sci-Fi Art

shifting-coronas

An artist’s rendering of shifting coronas around a black hole ©NASA / Public Domain


Sci-Fi Books

Interesting Looking New Releases

a-closed-and-common-orbit

A Closed and Common Orbit: Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for – and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to Becky Chambers’ beloved debut novel The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect and Star Wars. – Goodreads

 

the-machine-society The Machine Society: Mike Brooks debut novel is an adventure story set in a dystopian future in which our taste for branding, consumerism and artificial reality is boundless. In /The Machine Society/, he weaves together psychological insight, philosophical reflection and spiritual inquiry to give us a novel that is both a deep satire on modern life and a rich metaphor for our longing to find inner peace. Dean Rogers lives in the Perimeter of New London, holding down a soul-destroying job, surrounded by people who have lost the will to communicate. He is afraid his debts will spiral out of control, resulting in him being cast out of the city, outside of the Security Wall. Meanwhile, in the Better Life Complex, New London s rich elite live in plastic luxury, unaware of the sinister secrets that underpin their world. /The Machine Society/ is an original and intelligent sci-fi thriller, and a heartfelt rally cry for the soul’s liberation.”-Goodreads

 

 

 

New-To-You (and with a 3.75+ rating on Goodreads)

Timeswept Productions Goodreads: 3.97

Timeswept Productions
Goodreads: 3.97

hammers-slammers

Ace Books
Goodreads: 3.93

starshine

Hypernova Publishing
Goodreads: 3.91


Miscellaneous

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
  • FTC Disclaimer

    While Scifi and Scary does review books that they own or check out from the library, a large number of books do come from authors or publishers who have submitted the work in exchange for an honest review.

    Also, unless otherwise stated, please assume that all cover images and synopses come from Goodreads or IMDB and belong to the respective owners for the work. All items are used for the purpose of review under fair use terms.

  • Amazon Associate Disclaimer

    Scifi and Scary Book Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to www.amazon.com.

    * “Amazon, the Amazon logo, MYHABIT, and the MYHABIT logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.”*

  • I love Audible. Tons of books, fantastic narrators, good prices.