Top 10 Authors to Read if you like Guillermo del Toro

TTTBanner

Top 10 Authors to Read if you like Guillermo del Toro.

(I chose del Toro because many people are familiar with his movie work, such as Pan’s Labyrinth and Hellboy, however he also did the Strain Trilogy with co-author Chuck Hogan, and it was awesome. Yes…that The Strain.)

This prompt came from Broke and Bookish and I’d like to thank them for giving out some great ideas for so many Tuesdays!

Okay, so not everyone will agree with my choices, but I arrived at The Strain via some of these other authors, so… it is what it is.

1.) Brian Keene –  He works with subjects from the already scary (such as zombies) to subjects you think can’t possibly be scary (worms), and it ends with you closing his book and feeling distinctly unsettled and creeped out.

Some specific books of his I’d recommend are: (Psst, click on the books to be taken to the goodreads page for them.)

2.) Mira Grant – She puts you right in the thick of things, being (much like Ephraim in the Strain) someone actively seeking out what’s going, and trying to improve the situation.

Some specific books of hers I’d recommend are:

3.) Jake Bible – For that touch of the absurd but still yet strangely believable.

Some specific books of his I’d recommend are:

 

4.) Bryan James –  The unconventional hero.

Some specific books I’d recommend of his are:

5.) Neil Gaiman – Did you know, at one point the idea of Guillermo del Toro directing a screen adaptation of one of Gaiman’s books was flirted with?

Some specific books I’ve heard are awesome from him:

6.) James N. Cooke – Flat out enjoyable post-apocalyptic reading.

Okay, now for these next 4, I can’t speak for the author in general, as I haven’t read enough from them to know if the style is consistent, but these are books I’d recommend if you like del Toro.

7.) The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

8.) Bird Box by Josh Malerman

9.) Extinction Horizon by Nicholas Sansbury Smith

10.) Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix

So, if you are familiar with his work, do you disagree with any of my choices??

Leave me a link to your top ten and I’ll gladly have a look-see.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Authors to Read if you like Guillermo del Toro

    1. I have trouble reading Gaiman. I tried to read American Gods and was too easily distracted (That’s why I don’t specifically say on the list that I’ve *read* him), but I recognize he has some serious talent.

Comments are closed.

Loading Disqus Comments ...
Loading Facebook Comments ...