A Review of The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

What’s it about?

71717711These are the secrets I have kept. This is the trust I never betrayed. But he is dead now and has been for more than forty years, the one who gave me his trust, the one for whom I kept these secrets. The one who saved me . . . and the one who cursed me.

So starts the diary of Will Henry, orphaned assistant to Dr. Pellinore Warthrop, a man with a most unusual specialty: monstrumology, the study of monsters. In his time with the doctor, Will has met many a mysterious late-night visitor, and seen things he never imagined were real. But when a grave robber comes calling in the middle of the night with a gruesome find, he brings with him their most deadly case yet.

A gothic tour de force that explores the darkest heart of man and monster and asks the question: When does man become the very thing he hunts?

-Goodreads Synopsis

My Review of The Monstrumologist

I liked that the monsters were proper monsters. There were no sparkly vampires in this book. No “outwardly ugly, but inwardly so in need of snuggles” monsters, either. No, the monsters in this book were straight up monsters in the classical sense. Eat your flesh, and gestate their babies in your dead body.3 Star Rating

The Monstrumologist himself is not a likable character. Taciturn, brilliant, most likely at least a little insane, arrogant and utterly selfish, you spend half your time not understanding him, and the other half wanting to shoot him. The fact that he’s not the bad guy of the all the humans makes it even more frustrating. Luckily Will Henry is likable, and every parental instinct in you just wants to get him away from the Doctor, and you follow his story with a mix of feelings roiling in your gut.

As much as I wanted to like this book, I could not.  This is the type of book that I classify in my head as “a King book”. It just felt way, way too wordy. Now, with that being said, I can recognize why it was written this way. Gothic horror is a class of its own, and most books in this style are written in an exceedingly verbose style. My pick with this is it feels like it takes ages for any scene to actually happen. Everything seems ridiculously drawn out, even though that’s not always necessarily so.

Its not a badly written book, its just not one I personally should have picked up.  Fans of King, Hill, etc, will probably like it, though.

Click here to find The Monstrumologist now on Amazon.com

Title: The Monstrumologist | Series: The Monstrumologist | Author: Rick Yancey (site) | Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers | Pub. Date: 2010-7-20 | Pages: 434 | ISBN 13:  9781416984498 | Genre: Horror | Language: English | Triggers: None | Rating: 3 out of 5 | Date Read: 2015-11-20 | Source: Library

9 thoughts on “A Review of The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

  1. I loved the wordiness. I agree that everything was drawn out but that didn’t bother me, usually it does but I really like how this book was written.

    1. Its a style that definitely appeals to some people and not others. I don’t mind sinking my teeth into a wordy book, but it can’t *feel* like a wordy book. Ex: Mammoth Hunters by Jean M. Auel is 688 pages long. I LOVE that book but it doesn’t feel like a wordy book. I guess I just need to avoid Gothic Horror in general. lol.

      1. Yea, I guess I’m sometimes-ish when it comes to wordy books. I like this one but the books I’ve read so far in the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan feel wordy to me, which is one of the things I don’t like about them.

        1. Wheel of Time… My experience with that consisted of me picking the first book, reading about 10 pages, going “Nope”, putting it back down, and never touching it again. LOL.

          1. Haha! I liked the first book. I think I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads but every book after that one has lost a star. I plan to read the 6th book next year so if I hate it, I’ll give up the series. The books are unnecessarily long.

Comments are closed.

Loading Disqus Comments ...
Loading Facebook Comments ...